Circuit Clerk

Carroll County Courthouse
P.O. Box 32
Mt. Carroll,IL61053
Phone: (815) 244-0230
Fax: (815) 244-3869
Office Hours: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm, Monday - Friday

The Circuit Court of Carroll County is a part of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit which also includes the Circuit Courts of Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Ogle and Lee counties. Judges from the Circuit Court of Carroll County may hold court throughout the circuit as assigned by the Chief Judge of the Circuit.

The Circuit Court can decide, with few exceptions, any kind of case arising under state law. The exceptions are redistricting of the General Assembly and the ability of the Governor to serve or resume office. The Circuit Court also shares jurisdiction with the Illinois Supreme Court to hear cases relating to revenue, mandamus, prohibition and habeas corpus.

There are two kinds of judges in the Circuit Court: circuit judges and associate judges. Circuit judges are elected for six years, may be retained by voters for additional six year terms, and can hear any kind of case. Associate judges are appointed by circuit judges for four year terms. An associate judge can hear any case, except criminal cases punishable by a prison term of one year or more, unless the associate judge has received approval from the Supreme Court to hear those cases.



Illinois Standardized State Forms